Ally, Capital One and Barclays are three of the longest-running names in online savings in the United States, and a saver comparing them is usually doing it on a rate table. That is the least useful way to compare them. Their rates converge, swap places and move without notice; the things that actually differ between the three are structural, and two of the three have a structural feature that a rate table hides completely — a second, older account paying less than the one being advertised.
This page prints none of their rates, for the reason set out in finding the real top savings rate. It compares the three on what stays true for years: who holds the charter, how the rate is applied to a balance, what tools the account has, and where the legacy trap sits.
Three brands, three structures
Online banks for high-yield savings describes three structures behind the same-looking product. These three banks happen to be one of each.
Ally Bank is a chartered bank with no branches — the pure online bank. Its savings account is a deposit at Ally Bank, Member FDIC, and there is no parent brand or branch network behind it that could share the charter.
Capital One 360 Performance Savings is the online product of a large branch bank. The account is offered by Capital One, N.A., Member FDIC — the same charter as the branch accounts, the credit cards' issuing bank and the Capital One Cafés. You can open it online or walk into a branch or Café, which is a genuine difference from the other two.
Barclays in the United States is the online deposit arm of a British banking group, operating as Barclays Bank Delaware, Member FDIC. It has no US branches and, on the deposit side, a small product set: savings and certificates.
None of these structures is better in the abstract. The charter matters for one reason, covered next; the branch matters for cash and for the moment something goes wrong; and the product set matters for how much of your banking you want in one place.
The insurance detail, brand by brand
FDIC coverage is per depositor, per insured bank, per ownership category, at $250,000. Per insured bank means per charter.
For Ally and Barclays that is simple: one brand, one charter, one limit. For Capital One it is worth a sentence: a saver with a branch checking account, a 360 Performance Savings account and a certificate at Capital One is at one bank for insurance purposes, and the three balances count together against one $250,000 limit in each ownership category. That is not a defect; it is the rule, and are CDs FDIC insured sets out how ownership categories and beneficiaries raise the limit legitimately. Capital One's savings account lets you name up to ten payable-on-death beneficiaries, which is the practical tool for doing that at one bank.
How each bank applies its rate to a balance
This is where the three genuinely differ, and where the legacy trap lives.
Ally publishes three balance tiers — under $5,000, $5,000 to $24,999.99, and $25,000 and over — and, on the day checked, paid the same APY across all three, saying so on its page. The tiers exist in the disclosure; they are not currently used to pay different rates. Knowing they exist matters, because a bank that has tiers can use them.
Capital One pays one rate on the entire balance of a 360 Performance Savings account, and says so. That is the simplest structure of the three. Its complication is historical, and it is the next section.
Barclays introduced tiered pricing in July 2024, with a Tiered Savings account explicitly designed, in the bank's words, to reward "higher balance customers". It has six tiers, from under $10,000 up to a top tier running from $250,000 to $1,000,000, and the APY you earn is the rate for the tier your end-of-day balance falls in, applied to the whole balance. On the day checked, only the top tier earned a different rate — the five tiers below $250,000 all paid the same — so for almost every saver the tiers were, that day, cosmetic. They are still tiers, and the bank can price them differently whenever it chooses.
The legacy account, at two of the three
The pattern article 105 warns about — an account that keeps its name while its rate falls behind — is not hypothetical at these banks. It is visible at one and was litigated at another.
Capital One. In September 2019 Capital One launched 360 Performance Savings and stopped offering its earlier 360 Savings account to new customers — while continuing to run the old one, at a far lower rate. Litigation followed, alleging that the bank failed to raise the old account's rate in line with the new one, marketed the old account misleadingly, and did not tell 360 Savings holders that a higher-paying successor existed; the gap between the two accounts in 2024 was roughly four percentage points. In March 2026 the parties announced a $425 million settlement covering people who held a 360 Savings account between 18 September 2019 and 16 June 2025, together with a requirement that Capital One pay 360 Savings holders the 360 Performance Savings rate going forward. The settlement received final court approval, and as of July 2026 payments had been substantially delayed by a class member's appeal.
The point for a saver is not the litigation. It is that for nearly six years, an account called "360 Savings" at a well-known bank paid a small fraction of what "360 Performance Savings" at the same bank paid, and the only thing separating the two was a word. If you have had a Capital One savings account since before late 2019, check which one it is.
Barclays. Barclays still offers its older Online Savings account alongside Tiered Savings, and both are open to new customers. On the day checked, the older account's published rate was below the newest account's lowest tier. A customer who opened Online Savings years ago and never looked again holds a legitimately competitive account that pays less than the same bank offers a new customer with the same balance — the identical shape to Capital One's situation, without the litigation, and in plain sight on the bank's own rate page. Whether Barclays will keep the two apart or merge them is the bank's decision. Whether you are in the older one is yours to check, and it takes thirty seconds.
Ally, on the day checked, had one savings product. That is the structural reason it does not appear in this section, and it is worth exactly as much as it says: one product today.
The everyday differences
The rest of what separates the three is mundane and only matters in use.
| Ally | Capital One 360 | Barclays | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charter | Ally Bank | Capital One, N.A. — shared with branch accounts and cards | Barclays Bank Delaware |
| Branches | None | Branches and Cafés | None |
| Minimum / monthly fee | None / none | None / none | None / none |
| Rate structure | Three disclosed tiers, same rate across them on the day checked | One rate on the entire balance | Six tiers; only the top tier differed on the day checked; older Online Savings account still sold at a lower rate |
| Goal tools | Buckets (up to 30), round-ups, "surprise" transfers, recurring transfers | AutoSave; multiple accounts, one per goal | None comparable on the savings product |
| Withdrawal limit | 10 per statement cycle; no fee, but habitual excess closes the account | Not stated on the product page | Not stated on the product page |
| Beneficiaries | Available | Up to 10 payable-on-death | Available |
| Legacy-account check needed | No, on the day checked | Yes — 360 Savings vs 360 Performance Savings | Yes — Online Savings vs Tiered Savings |
Two rows deserve a note. Ally's withdrawal limit is a holdover from a federal rule that no longer requires it; Ally keeps it as a term of the account, charges nothing for breaching it, and reserves the right to close accounts that breach it habitually — which is a reasonable thing to know before using the account as a spending buffer. And the goal tools are the difference most people feel daily: Ally's buckets and Capital One's multiple accounts both do the job of separating sinking funds from the emergency fund; Barclays' savings product does not try.
What none of this tells you
It does not tell you which pays most this month. Rates in this segment move independently, the three swap places, and the answer on any date is on the three banks' own pages and nowhere else. APR vs APY explains why only the APY is comparable, and 105 explains why a floor you set is more useful than a leader you chase.
It does not tell you about bonuses. Two of the three run sign-up incentives from time to time, keyed to deposit amounts and windows; those are a separate activity with their own arithmetic on bank account bonuses, and they should never be the reason to hold an account.
And it does not tell you where your emergency fund should be. Any of the three is a reasonable home for the part of it that earns; where to keep an emergency fund covers the split between an instant-access buffer and the rest, which matters more than the choice of bank. If the comparison you actually want is with a newer entrant whose rate is conditional on direct deposit, SoFi's account, read properly is the companion to this page.
What to actually do
If you already bank with one of the three, check which product you hold. Capital One: 360 Savings or 360 Performance Savings. Barclays: Online Savings or Tiered Savings. If it is the older one, the newer one is on the same site, and moving is a form.
Count charters before you split money for safety. Capital One's branch accounts, cards and 360 accounts share one charter. Ally and Barclays are each their own.
Pick on structure, then verify the rate at the bank. Branch access and a shared charter, or pure online; one rate on everything, or tiers that could be priced later; goal tools, or none. Decide which of those you want, then read the APY on the bank's page that day.
Read the tiers even when they pay the same. A bank that discloses tiers has built the machinery to use them. That is not a reason to avoid the account; it is a reason to check the rate twice a year rather than never.
Set a floor and diarise the check. The lesson of the Capital One case is not that one bank behaved badly. It is that nobody reads their savings rate after opening the account, and every bank knows it.
Keep one boring account elsewhere. All three are online for practical purposes — Capital One's branches aside — and the case for a full-service account for cash and emergencies applies to all of them equally.
Get the CentSheet Money Brief
Email me CentSheet weekly: practical money decisions, new calculators, and useful worksheets. Unsubscribe anytime.